Municipal Service Fee Appeals Board


The Municipal Service Fee Appeals Board consists of five members.  The Director of Administration and Finance shall serve as ex-officio.  The other four members shall be employed within the city, with two chosen by Council and two chosen by the Mayor.  All members shall serve a two-year term commencing on July 1 and ending on June 30 of the second year.  Any member appointed to fill a vacancy shall serve for the remainder of the unexpired term.
Name Term Begins
Term Ends
John Porco
July 1, 2023
June 30, 2025
Joseph Gurrera
July 1, 2023
June 30, 2025
Diana Smoljanovich
Ex-officio June 30, 2025
George E. Ash, Sr. March 7, 2022 June 30, 2025


The Municipal Service Fee Appeals Board shall have the power to correct the amount of fees charged whenever there has been an error of fact in the calculation or billing based upon evidence presented at a protest hearing.  The decision of the Board shall be by a majority vote of all its members.  The Board may, as to questions of law arising in the course of a hearing, request a written opinion of the City Attorney.  Reference Ordinance No. 1417.